What has happened to the womens teams?

MDZip

I know a lot of people don't follow the women's sports but I still like to see them do well. Cross country and track are pretty much combined with the men's teams and continue to do well and swimming came out of nowhere a few years ago and won the MAC and continue to hold a lofty standard but the flagship programs (volleyball, soccer and basketball) are abysmal right now. Volleyball finished at 3-13, soccer at 1-6-4 (both missed the MAC playoffs) and basketball is sitting just a game from dead last at 2-13 three years after winning the MACC. For years the women were at least mediocre but they are all bottom of the barrel right now. Just puzzling to see the decline in all of them.

I am no expert on this subject either, but I do go to a lot of Zip women's soccer, swimming and track games/meets/matches.  I am not sure about volleyball, but I think the previous coaching staff was rather high school-esque in their approach to the game and abysmal at recruiting.  I know one of the current player's parents as aquaintences and they seem to be pleased with the new regime but said it will take some time to turn around what he inherited.  

Track and field - they just won (today) the indoor MACs over a talented field of 11 other MAC schools, and have been 1st or 2nd in indoor and outdoor the last four seasons.  Jumps are top notch, sprints strong after a few off years, weights are down after two all americans left.  But they recruit so well, and their coaching staff is so solid and productive.  What they have is depth at almost every event.  Swimming and diving is similar, with a team that never finished better than eighth in the MAC transformed into winning four straight MAC titles (they'll wrap up #4 tonight).  Why? A coaching staff that blends hard work and having fun, with smart recruiting.  Peresie arived and trained smart and got total buy in from the women and here we are.