2024 Women's soccer

I am so hoping that all of my negativity the past few seasons has left my body, and I can enjoy women's soccer this season.  I have been a huge critic of Coach Simonetti, but it sure looks like she's worked very hard since the end of 2023 to make this program work.  She's doing the hard part, and the incoming class, at least on paper, promises to add talent in the right places.  We're still in Florida, so I didn't get to see either of the exhibitions, but it sounds like they played well against Dayton and St. Bonaventure.  My "goal!" is to get behind the women and not be such a pain in the butt re: Coach.  She's showing she's willing to put in the time to make the squad a winning one, and that's a lot for me.  Go Women's Soccer!  Go Zips!

• Like 3

Way to go!  Starting the season with a W is a great start, plus it was a road win, plus it was a come-from-behind win.  Tried to watch, but the lack of cameras made it painful, but both goals seemed to be blazers - well struck with force and to the proper side of the keeper.  Great job to the women and coaches...

• Like 3

• 2 weeks later...

great start to the season....

Coach Simonetti was handed a pile of smelly stuff in her first year.

She is a hard worker.......and I am happy that the players and coaches are seeing some good results.

go, Lady Zips

• Like 5

So excited by the recent outcomes for the women's soccer team!  We went to both the Oakland and the Wright State matches, (and unfortunately came back and watched the men vs. Ohio State after dinner).  There are marked signs of improvement, both of the players themselves and the strategies/tactics employed by the staff.  And the new recruits seem to be fitting in and having a level of talent above past teams.  Two thigs that has stood out to me:

Their resilience - they have bounced back from deficits, where in the past going down a goal was the death knell for the Zips.